latest news

March 11, 2012

I’ve started full time work. It’s exciting. I’m starting a brand new chapter. And this brand new chapter is no less exciting than the other brand new chapters that get lots of air play as milestones: finishing high school, finishing uni, starting work for the first time, your first home, starting a family… Freshness and challenge are not restricted by age.

I haven’t been working full time since my first daughter was born nineteen years ago. I took the full time parenting route and, after eight years of that, worked sessionally and completed a Masters and (almost) a PhD by stealth.

My youngest started high school this year and I’ve started as a full time lecturer in education. I haven’t finished writing my dissertation yet, but that milestone is very close (I’m tipping within the next week or two).

I’m not sure what life will be like after finishing my thesis. I’m hoping to resurrect some neglected aspects of life: the novel (reading for pleasure), and entertaining. The only novels I’ve read in the last couple of years have been the millennium series, A Spot of Bother, The Slap (couldn’t finish it, but still trying) and Frankenstein. Frankenstein I’ve been reading over the past week. Rosie (daughter number 2) is studying it for English (she’s in year 12 doing the International Baccalaureate). I’m reading it because she said, “Mum, can you read this please I really want to talk about it with you!”. My kids keep me grounded.

Likewise, I’m not sure what life will be like as an academic. So far, its started off wonderfully. I’m very happy in my office and I feel well supported to face the new challenges.

The first of my international conferences for the year is in Vancouver in April! I’ll post a little more on this as the time draws near.

2 Responses to “latest news”

  1. Congrats! You and me both. I’ve started as a corporate hack at a software company. Hope to hear updates on how it goes.

  2. Kit said

    Good luck with your new start! And enjoy your extra reading time.

Leave a Reply

