On my run I saw four black cockatoos, six kangaroo and an Eastern Rosella

September 14, 2011

On my run this afternoon I saw four black cockatoos, six kangaroo and an Eastern Rosella.

Yep, you guessed it, I’m back in Australia. And despite a little bit of jet lag I have just managed to do my usual 10k run. I think it was the Lyon City bikes and swimming laps in the pool at The University of Exeter that kept me fit whilst away for two weeks despite conferencing during the day, eating out at night and drinking a little bit more and staying up later than I normally would.

The highlights of the trip? Apart from the conferences themselves and the wonderful people with whom I had professional and happy catch-up discussions, the highlights of the trip were:

1. On safari in search of Dartmoor ponies.

2. Exploring Lyon on City Bikes and on foot.

Following is a photographic chronology of my Dartmoor safari:

Firstly it took a little while to find our way onto the moors, but we knew we were there when the trees became windswept, there were no stone fences and we could see tors on the horizon.

It was amongst the tors that I first spotted evidence of the ponies. (So I took a photo of the evidence, just in case we didn’t find any actual ponies).

We sat on the tors for a little while and became very windswept ourselves. Through binoculars we spotted ponies on a far away ridge and some more by a far away road under a tree. It was exciting. We jumped in the car and headed for the far away road. After many twists and turns we passed the very same ponies that we had seen magnified though our binoculars still standing under the tree. I lept out of the car and captured the beasts on film (the photographs I will now share with you).

Wild ponies!

(Although they didn’t look particularly wild.)

They sort of looked tubby and placid.

In Australia we have wild horses called Brumbies. They are legendary and you get the image of them running in packs, tossing their manes in the wind, bucking and such and being quite fierce if you ever come across them. You’d expect a bit of hoof stamping and nostril flaring at the minimum.  I suppose that’s what I was expecting of the Dartmoor Ponies. But on second thoughts, I should have realised that they weren’t quite the same as the wild horses in the Australian High Plains – their title “ponies” should have given me the heads up.

Oh well. We had a fun day and topped it off with cream tea in Dartmouth in the sun. (It was much warmer in Dartmouth than up on the moors).

Stay tuned for more adventure travel stories. Next up, getting lost in Lyon in search of Brasserie Georges.

4 Responses to “On my run I saw four black cockatoos, six kangaroo and an Eastern Rosella”

  1. Kit said

    Glad you enjoyed your safari and found the ponies! Even though they didn’t mane-toss and stamp for you, Nice to see pictures of the tors.

  2. ejenne said

    Thanks Kit. Its amazing that you went to the University of Exeter. It’s a nice campus up on the hill there. They’ve spent heaps on rebuilding and it’s getting incredibly modern. The only problem was that indoors did get quite hot, especially in a packed conference presentation. I commented that there didn’t seem to be much air flow in the buildings. I received the reply, “No, that’s because in England ‘flow of air’ is called a draught”.

  3. I would have loved seeing the ponies (and hearing about the kangaroos, cockatoos and eastern rosella) and now will have to see what brumbles are like. You are one amazing woman. I hope things are going well.

  4. ejenne said

    Hi Kate. thank you 🙂
    Things are going fairly well. I aim to be finished writing my thesis by the end of november and have decided to go for full time work next year, Kat is doing well at uni, now has a boyfriend, starts her first part time job next week and is progressively recovering from the eating disorder. The other kids are doing extremely well too. Emma has the lead in the school play and has matured beyond her years, Rosie is doing IB and very well with music and french (she goes to Lyon on exchange in December). Sally finishes primary school soon and is growing up to be very sweet and clever.

    ps. I’m planning to go to Vancouver in April next year for a conference!

Leave a Reply

