From mother to mother

November 8, 2009

“What advice would you give a mother about to enter teenaged years with her daughters?’

This question was asked of me last Friday morning. I was putting in my usual half hours voluntary work at the primary school’s uniform shop. One of my co workers had served a woman and her little girl that morning. The little girl was her youngest and due to start school next year. They had fitted her into a school dress, collected her a bag, sun hat, reader folder, and all the other things she would need for her first day of school. This took time.  Its not unusual in this situation for the mother to end up in deep conversation with one of us at the uniform shop. In this instance, I had overheard her say how much she was dreading the time when her three girls, who are close in age, are all teenagers together. “Tell me about it!” I chimed in. “I’m there already”.

She turned to me then and enquired after the ages of my girls. I smiled and reported that they were 10, 12, 14 and 16. Nodding she confirmed that her daughters were also about two years apart. Her eyes searched my face. I felt a gentle hint of camaraderie in her unspoken language and she appeared to be thinking deeply. It was then she asked the question.

I wasn’t taken aback but her expression occasioned me to pause and think very seriously before responding. Searching for a truthful reply, I was simultaneously monitoring the need to reply seriously at all. Her unhurried way and open expression reassured me that she had asked seriously. This is what I ended up saying:

“Learn how to help your daughters develop emotional intelligence”.

2 Responses to “From mother to mother”

  1. trousers said

    Sounds like good advice to me, I imagine it’s a potentially bewildering question to be asked in terms of the possible scope for different answers.

    Hello again, by the way! I must catch up sometime soon with the various posts that I’ve missed lately 🙂

  2. ejenne said

    Hi trousers! Welcome back 🙂

    Well its very pertinent to my situation with my eldest. The eating disorder is an unhealthy way of coping with emotions. The things I have learnt in my care for her, I have been applying in support of her sisters who are all worried and for the first time in my life understand how to do it!

Leave a Reply

