A Day of Baking

April 10, 2009

We are at home over Easter for the first time. Whilst Kat is in hospital we want to stay near by. I’ve cancelled my trip to San Diego. Instead of presenting at the conference, a digital version of me (filmed yesterday at the last minute) is on its way to San Diego with colleagues as I write.

Having been caught out by Good Friday (no shops open), and having not planned ahead to have bought hot cross buns from a bakery, I decided to make them myself. I had never made them before and found a recipe in my outdated Good Housekeeping cook book. I had to make do with the ingredients in the pantry. This occasioned some omissions (nutmeg and currants) and substitions. Instead of mixed spice I used garam masala. But I did have yeast! 

The mixture took ages to rise.  What better excuse to curl up on the couch with a book (currently reading Autograph Man by Zadie Smith). Gentle rain fell outside. Emma helped me roll out the shortcrust pastry for the crosses. 

p4100610

We set them to rise again before baking. A gentle aroma of spice filled the air. They were ready to eat by three in the afternoon. Delicious!

p4100611

6 Responses to “A Day of Baking”

  1. Kit said

    They look great! I bet they smelled and tasted good too. I baked ours too – they have a much nicer texture than the bought ones, though I didn’t put in quite enough spice.

    I hope Kat gets better quickly and that you all had a good Easter.

  2. zhisou said

    Impressive stuff ejenne, they do look good.

    I must work on my own signature dishes actually, I never seem to cook these days.

  3. Catie said

    Ooh, yummy! I’m impressed!

  4. ejenne said

    Hi Mr Z. Please do tell… what is your signature dish?

  5. ejenne said

    Hi Kit. Thank you. I hope you had a good Easter as well.

    Kat is home from hospital now and so far doing fine. 🙂

  6. ejenne said

    Hi Catie. Thank you. I was very proud.

Leave a Reply

