The Home Office

November 27, 2008

I’m working from home today. I recently set up my home office. Only last week the cabinetry was completed. I now have built-in filing drawers and book shelves. Its taking some time to unpack my boxes. Its an opportunity to reorganise. Occasionally I become distracted from the tidying task to re-read articles I’d forgotten about.

When we moved into our new home, many decisions were made with as little running around as possible. For example, when it came time to choose tapware etc, I went to our local plumbing supplier and chose everything within an hour. We have renovated before. I know that once these items are in the home, you do not notice them.

The light fittings were a little more tricky. Our first port of call was a solar energy company for LED downlights. These have satisfied our requirements for most of the house. For feature lights I went to an Italian glass importer. These choices I also made quickly. But in the anticipation of how they would look hanging here I experienced the heebie jeebies. Some of the fittings I chose are ‘out there’. Luckily in situ they do work well. The family love them and people continually remark upon them. 

Setting up my home office, I went to Coco Republic on an unplanned adventure (there was a store amongst many other furniture shops which I passed on my way somewhere else with a little time to kill). I found a glass-topped desk and a groovy swivel chair. Its a combination that looks great in the room. Being able to see through the desk means it doesn’t dominate the space. But yesterday I discovered another benefit of a see through desk:

pb260078

I can ‘talk’ to Pussykins!

5 Responses to “The Home Office”

  1. JC said

    I have just arrived home from helping a friend sort out her front (ie junk) room and she too has lots of shelves and cupboards – it makes it so much easier to get organised. I, on the other hand have very little space at the moment to organise my “stuff” into – but we’re working on it.
    I think decisions made quickly are the best – how many times do you end up coming back to the thing that caught your eye in the first place,after you’ve spent hours checking out other options (I’ve just done it, buying a king single bed for our son – wasted hours, with him grumbling at me the whole time)
    I’ve got lots of decisions to make in the near future about floor coverings, fixtures etc so will try to spend as little time on it as possible. Life’s too short to be worrying about which toilet looks better!
    Your place looks wonderful – you obviously have innate style to be able to make snap decisions like that and for it all to work so well together.

  2. 12ontheinside said

    Your Pussykins is gorgeous, and looks heaps like my kitty, Oreo.

  3. trousers said

    Now THAT’S what it’s all about: being able to talk to Pussykins through the see-through desk. I think I would have very similar priorities 🙂

  4. mirabella said

    Brilliant idea! However, I think I’d find it too pleasantly distracting.

  5. ejenne said

    Hi JC. Thanks. Good luck with your choices. (Usually my tastes are eclectic. I love patterns and choose pieces for their individual appeal rather than how they will go together. Its nothing short of a miracle that its come together well this time!).

    Hi 12ontheinside and welcome! Oreo is a great name. Is it after the biscuits?

    Hi trousers. Why she has to sit exactly where I want to put my feet, I don’t know lol.

    Hi Mirabella. Pussikins is a distraction. She snores!

Leave a Reply

