Does anyone still bake?

May 17, 2007

My girlfriend exclaimed to me the other day, no one bakes anymore! I was quite surprised at this, but she was adament that she knew hardly anyone who bothered to make their own cakes, biscuits and what-nots.

It is true that ready-made cakes are quite cheap and readily available these days. Even my local supermarket does a pretty nice chocolate mouse cake that we occasionally purchase when we are having visitors for dinner. But this is the exception rather than the rule at our place. I like to bake and prefer to have home-made items to put in my childrens’ lunch boxes. There are probably three standard baked items that you are pretty much guaranteed to find at our place:

1. Crispies. These are biscuits my mum used to make. The kids love them. I remember when I was a teenager, my friends used to always meet at my place before all heading out for an evening, because there would always be Crispies there. We’d have crispies and a cuppa while we waited for everyone to arrive. Then we’d all pile into one or two cars and head out.

2. Muffins. I have a delicious yogurt/oatmeal recipe that is adaptable to any nuts, fruits or spices you happen to have handy at the time that was given to me by a South African woman who came to our playgroup about thirteen years ago.

3. Chocolate cake. We have the best and easiest microwave chocolate cake recipe that my daughter Rosie loves to make. She can make it from memory. If ever I need a cake quickly I generally set Rosie onto the task, because it cooks in just eight minutes! It’s fantastic having one daughter who loves to bake and is quite good at it and, best of all, can do it independently. I need to supervise the younger two still, and my oldest daughter, Kathleen, has a haphazard manner of cooking, as is her style with a lot of things. She prefers not to follow recipes, and makes up her own concoctions. Her cooking experiments yield varied results. However, the children generally eat whatever she cooks because she always remembers to include a lot of sugar. If I want consistent, reliable results, I ask Rosie.

Here is the 8 Minute Microwave Chocolate Cake recipe.
I’m sure you’ll agree – its dead easy and quick. All you need that is different to ‘normal’ cooking is a microwave-safe ring tin (plastic, not metal).

1. put 125g butter, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup water in a microwave dish and cook 4min on high. Stir it when it comes out to just completely dissolve the sugar.

2. mix in 1 1/2 cups self raising flour, 1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda and 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 2 eggs.

3. put the whole mixture into the greased plastic ring tin and cook 8 minutes on high.

That’s it! Let it cool. Press it out of the tin and ice it. Bob’s Your Uncle!

 

2 Responses to “Does anyone still bake?”

  1. Charlotte said

    I can vouch for your muffins! They are lovely. I still bake, and have taught my oldest how to as well.

  2. ejenne said

    Hi Charlotte,
    I’ve started blogging again and just put up 3 posts over the last 3 days, after a year of inactivity! As well as finding time to write again, I’ve also been going through the archives of my old blog and moving the odd post across to souffle. This was one from 2007! It began our world muffin bake-off if you recall? It’s a pity I can’t move all of the comments across too because after posting the muffin recipe, people added their variations.

Leave a Reply

